Free Coffee to spiritual adventurer…


 

coffee 

A little while back, I responded to a reader asking if drinking coffee, (and other such things) were actually spiritual. You can look that up if you want to, if you want to read the post in full. But, in the post I talk about a truly interesting spiritual practice monks have used with coffee.

It gives me pause to realize how I may incorporate what I usually think of as “secular,” or everyday/common things, into the realm of sacred. This way, all of life is both a physical and spiritual experience, and a way to revere, love, and acknowledge our Creator. It is doing all of life as prayer.

As for me, I love coffee. I have since age 5. I would wait until my dad wasn’t looking, and I’d slurp down his milky sugary mixture, even if it had gone cold. Spiritually it does play a part in my life. It’s a way to sit back, and take in life, and to be more “in the moment.” I love to remember God is not apart from me, “over there,” or “in the sky,” but always with me. And, I enjoy realizing he delights in my enjoyment of things he has given me, even such things as simple as a good hot brew. So, I invite him into that experience fully, (when I have the right mind, and will to do so.)

I have a bag of delicious coffee to give to the visitor who best reveals, in the comment section below, how and why coffee (or tea, if you must) is, or has been, an enjoyment to them, or even a spiritual aid to their journey with God. Have at it.

If you know a coffee lover, point them in this direction. Hopefully, we can contribute to the dialogue on this topic.

Keep on brewin’! 🙂

3 responses to “Free Coffee to spiritual adventurer…

  1. Lisa,

    Coffee and the cowl definitely go way back. As you are probably aware, cappuccino takes its name from the Capuchin order of monks. Supposedly it was the prayers of Marco d’Aviano (sainted back in ’03) that turned the tide of battle against some invading Turks who, in their hasty retreat, left behind sacks of beans. The monks found the brew too bitter and sweetened it w/ milk and sugar. The name is variously ascribed to 1) the order’s invention of the drink, 2) the drink’s visual similarity to the monks’ habits – darkish brown with a peaked white hood, like the frothy whip atop the mocha brew, or 3) the notion that these guys chugged shots in order to stay awake for midnight prayers.

    More modern, and Protestant, connections exist. Garrison Keillor says Lutherans consider coffee a third sacrament. Leonard sweet claims that coffee has around 4K discrete chemical constituents and packs eight hundred flavor molecules per jolt, outstripping even wine for complexity. (He adds that the one place in America where you can be assured of getting the worst possible cup of coffee is church on Sunday morning!)

    All of that to say that doubtless drinking coffee can be a spiritual experience, either as one drinks in solitude and gives thanks for God’s good creation, or as one drinks in company and lets a mug of joe grease the ball-bearings of Christian hospitality.

    And really, to respond to the earlier blog – if “normal” things like drinking coffee or walking the dog or reading the paper on a lazy Saturday morning are not “spiritual” activities, then our spirituality is flawed and, worse still, snobbish!

    Now, where can I get me one of those monkmugs?

  2. lisacolondelay

    Doug you are a wealth of knowledge. What a delightful comment entry! I just might love coffee all the more now. Bottoms’ up.

  3. Sharon Herbste

    On my first date with my husband, I invited him to come in for a cup of coffee afterwards. He accepted. However, I had never even drunk coffee, let alone make it myself until that night. I calmly excused myself and went into my mother’s bedroom to ask frantically, “Mom, how do you make coffee?” I managed to brew him a cup of instant coffee, which he eagerly drank. That was the beginning of my love affair with him and with coffee, which has lasted for forty two years. We both start out our day with a cup or two of instant coffee before work in the morning. However, on weekends, we “treat” ourselves to the “real” stuff—brewed from beans, which we grind ourselves. This is truly a “spiritual” experience for us! Making coffee from “scratch” reminds me that we are like the beans, life is the grinder and God is the brewer. He takes us and put us through the grinder of life, which refines us into real substance that can be used for something greater. Beans alone are not usable until they they have been “transformed” at the Brewer’s hand along with others like themselves. Sipping my cup of “real” coffee gives me pause to thank God for quiet Saturday mornings, coffee beans, and my husband of forty one years, with whom I shared my first cup of coffee.