Pet Food, Priorities, and care for people


 

$17 billion per year on pet food

$17 billion per year on pet food

Jonathan Bonk writes that a recent United Nations Human Development Report concludes that Americans and Europeans spend $17 billion on pet food. This is $4 billion more than could provide basic health care and nutrition for the world’s population.

What do you have to say in response to this?

2 responses to “Pet Food, Priorities, and care for people

  1. Seems like our money goes to the wrong places because our priorities are not where they should be. Pets are great but, come on, they are just animals after all. I wonder what the numbers are for pet health care and accessories? This is where I think it gets really absurd. But, as I’m writing this, I’m convicted of the things I spend my money on that could be used for someone else’s benefit. And maybe not as noble as providing for a pet.