Reader Responds with quote (i.e. Lust: an Opportunity)


Karen Moret Harrison wrote:

 “If there is an Enemy of Souls, one thing he cannot abide is the desire for purity. Hence a man’s or woman’s passions become his battleground. The Love of Souls does not prevent this. I was perplexed because it seemed to me He should prevent it, but He doesn’t. He wants us to learn to use our weapons.” ~Elisabeth Elliot

En garde!

It would seem that we must take up armor against attacks that target our weak points, yet use the attacks themselves as God’s inescapable challenges to strengthen ourselves, enrich our dependence on Him, and I dare say,  hone our passions for our best interests, and God’s work.

Thank you for writing, friend! “Allez!”

How about you? Leave your  thoughts and comments, please. 🙂

6 responses to “Reader Responds with quote (i.e. Lust: an Opportunity)

  1. Karen Harrison

    Here’s the funny thing: passion can apply to so many things beyond the obvious sexual connotation.

    Lisa, you have a passion for writing about the God you love and who loves you. Satan will sidetrack that passion with issues such as a nipple peek! Can I get her off track for even a minute he might be saying to his tricky self! Can I shift her focus off of what matters? Can I get a little sideshow going over here?

    • lisacolondelay

      Certainly passion has a wide frame of reference. God passion for us is a perfect example. Good points Karen!

  2. Karen – With all due respect to Liz (and I see the force of her comment), I can’t help thinking that a fanatical zeal for purity – the “nipp(le) it in the bud!” kind of zeal that pours over blogs looking for offensive mammaries, for instance – is one of the things the enemy of souls not only can abide, but absolutely loves! It reminds me of the old bishop in George Bernanos’ “Diary of a Country Priest” who tells of a cleaning lady determined to keep the church building pure. She scrubs so much the humidity soars and grows mushrooms and moss in the choir loft. “If I’d let her have her way,” the old man chuckles, “I’d have turned everyone out so the Lord might keep his feet dry.” He concludes, “The mistake she made wasn’t to fight dirt, sure enough, but to try and do away with it altogether.”

    Lisa, Karen’s right – you can spend your time policing photos for inadvertent nippleslips, or you can keep writing helpful words for those on the path. I vote for the latter.

    • lisacolondelay

      Thanks, Doug. I do think it can be a waste to nitpick and use of my energies on things that may be sideline issues, all while distracting myself from writing how greater and more transforming truths.

  3. Or “nipplepick”?

  4. lisacolondelay

    I was wondering if you would go there.