Who are You?


WHO are YOU?

 

Long ago, singer/song writer, Bob Dylan sang  that we’ve all “gotta serve somebody.” Nothing could be truer. Dylan wasn’t preaching, he was capturing the human condition.

Look at anybody you know, or watch a few people for a while. What do they love? What do they work for? What do they invest in? Of course, ask yourself the very same questions, because your answers are the ones that start the thoughts and insights that produce growth, or betterment.

Whatever someone starts to love or invest time and effort into, that very thing becomes their master. (It owns them, etc.) It becomes the object of their worship.I realize this sounds negative, but that is not what I’m shooting for here. It’s just an observation. But notice how, a kind of power or attention shift happens, like it or not.

It’s true with hobbies, goals, money making, fitness, drugs, career, relationships, material wealth, fame, ministry, and yes, God. So, what ever it is we love or enjoy had better be the best master, the most good, or the highest way, so when (not if, but when) it soon rules us, the fit will be for our good, not ill, because, “you gotta serve somebody.” We’d like to think we’ve mastered independence, and we make our own decisions, but what we love (worship, adore, spend time on) influences us. And that’s that. (I got folksy on you, at the last second.)

You can tell so much about you, if you write down 10 adjectives that best describe the thing (person, item, idea) that you love best or put most of your time into, (like a strategy, trade, or discipline). Give it a try if you don’t believe me. If you leave 10 adjectives in the comments section (answering honestly), even if I don’t know you, I’ll reply and tell you something about you. (Or, maybe it’s more than you want to know. lol.)

Interestingly, it’s those who that say they love God, for instance, when they describe God as judgmental, angry, and so forth, they are really describing a god they have worshiped, which is different than the Being who made, loves, and redeemed us.

They also describe who they have become. We become that which we serve and worship. If we adore an ungracious god, we become ungracious. However, in this case, we are not worshiping the Living God.

(I’d love to hear your thoughts or comments; and if you were tagged to read this, thank you for reading and responding in a way that best suits you.)

~Lisa

(photo source)

19 responses to “Who are You?

  1. Thanks Lisa for the post. I was reminded of God’s consuming passion for the lost this morning at church. I was also reminded of my consuming passion for my own agenda, self-worth, and goals. It was convicting. The world around us often isn’t aware of the God that we serve because we are often serving ourselves and not others. Great reminders that we need to preach the gospel to ourselves daily because we naturally gravitate to our own passions. I think that’s where He wants us, so that can move towards Him in Faith.

  2. Wow, it’s harder than I think it should be to pinpoint what I care about the most. It feels like a cop out to say God or my wife… but those would probably be at the top of my list with some caveats about some other things that creep in such as writing, my safety, having some kind of ministry career, etc. Hmmmm. Thought provoking and helpful at the start of the new year.

  3. My purpose and priorities have changed so much in the last two and a half years. I have to say that God is who I love and care and think about the most because He is the one who changed it all.
    Good, loving, merciful, personal, compassionate, gracious, inspirational, peaceful, creative & kind pretty much sums him up for me!

  4. Like Ed, I found this to be a harder exercise than I thought it might be. I too have been struck recently by the ways we misunderstand God. Luke 15: 29 where in the parable of the prodigal son the older son answered his father’s request to come to the party with these words. “Look! All these years I have been slaving for you and never disobeyed your orders. Yet you never even gave me a young goat so I could celebrate with my friends.” The son thinks of himself as a slave, a worker working for a payoff. But in verse 31 the father says “My Son, you are always with me and everything I have is yours.” God thinks of us very differently than I suspect many of us think of him. God wants us to love and be loved not to slave and simply put in time. If I am not like this yet, this is what I long to be, one on whom God has lavished his great love and who understands the privilage and responsibility of being called a son of God!

  5. lisacolondelay

    Like the rest of you, thus far, I am convicted. Thank you all for your honesty, and input.

  6. Doug Jackson

    absent
    mysterious
    absconditus
    beneath
    behind
    dark
    faithful
    wounding
    cloud
    unknown

    (And it wasn’t THAT long ago that Dylan said that.)

    • lisacolondelay

      31 years ago is fairly “long ago,” Doug. : ) hahaha lol.

      With those adjectives, I’m thinking: contemplative.

  7. lisacolondelay

    Lisa, you’ve hit it. Maybe a bit hard for many of us who have watched a few too many football games (and intend to watch a few more)

    (KEN MILLER-via Facebook)

  8. warwickfuller

    Great post, Lisa! I agree.

    A quote from one of y favorite books, The Life of God in the Soul of Man, written in the 1700’s, says thus: “The worth and excellency of a soul is to be measured by the object of its love.” Brilliant. Scougal goes on to write that the object of one’s love can truly be told by who they are, and how that love has influenced them…

    If you’ve never read it, I highly recommend it.

    That, and going to my NEWLY moved blog. lol…

  9. Dan Masshardt

    I certainly agree. This approach has also gotten a lot of evangelistic traction – Tim Keller in Manhattan comes to mind. Additionally, it is how we preach the gospel to ourselves. What we say we believe and what is really in the depth of our hearts are often not the same.

    Of course many (most) of us want to answer God. But you are pushing us to go deeper in thinking about what we think about when we think about God (the thing that A.W. Tozer said is the most important thing about us).

    I would say that God is who I love most, but if you looked at my days you would probably disagree.

    Fortunately, the relationship does not depend on my faithfulness but on his.

    • lisacolondelay

      Dan: I agree that the relationship’s existence doesn’t depend on our level of perfection, but, it does us very little good in becoming like Christ to not be faithful. Of course, it’s not so much a focus on doing that I try to highlight here, but rather the true desire of one’s heart. (Our affections, our true love, our sustaining mover as we live)

      Warwick: I appreciate those quotes. Thank you. I’ll hunt for you blog as well.

  10. Dan Masshardt

    I think that the desire is an important factor. Have any of us the wholehearted love for our Savior that we desire?

    What saddens me personally and as a pastor is those who simply seem to lack the desire.

  11. Laurie Mellinger

    Wow, Lisa…

    Of course we all want to churn out ten adjectives that describe God. Yet the verse coming to mind is the one asking how we can claim to love God, whom we have not seen, if we don’t love one another, whom we have seen. The greatest commandment may indicate that love for God and love for others (those God loves) are equally important. Still, I agree with you that God is the best Master, and other people have to take a back seat to His Lordship.

    Dan, our pastor started the new year by preaching about hungering and thirsting for righteousness…

    Warwick, I’ve started reading Scougal’s book–just yesterday!

  12. I just might be slave to a hot cup of java some days or at least some moments of the morning. When I think about turning the steering wheel toward the coffee shop, my course is altered, perhaps enslaved. And ultimately, I am invested in many other pursuits–unfortunately some not much better than being sold out for a cup of coffee. But when I think of seeking God which is a casual everyday experience, (for he goes with me for coffee–he let’s me drink it all too ;^), I can contemplate my devotion and often find him in the midst of many other ventures as well.
    So here’s my list so far: humble, ever-listening, investing, redemptive, life-changing …
    So I will invest and seek to live here too.
    Thanks for the opp to think about my own investments and pursuits in life.

    • lisacolondelay

      Thanks for your contribution, Jeff. Coffee beat out fishing-I AM surprised. : )

    • As I contemplate the subject again this morning. I am thinking about the difference between pursuits. I am a fisherman, my wife loves to cook. Whether one fishes or cooks as a hobby, we can certianly do so with connection to God. So I am invested in fishing–a kayak, a canoe, fishing gear and lures, but hopefully not to the detriment of God. In fact, I find rest and connection with God through peaceful meditation–I’m not the greatest fisherman so I have lots of time between bites.
      As for those who cook, they can reflect on their pursuit as a “gift” to others. They can be grateful for God’s creativity in desgining us to enjoy the “spices” of life. So my wife’s Pampered Chef parties are not totally in vain.
      Those with financial giftings and tendencies (and especially those with jobs in this arena) can use their pursuits to enhance the lives of others. They can demonstrate and model good stewardship in their pursuits.
      Yet the difficulty is when any of these things move up the scale, we can become enslaved. It is a subtle shift. I think the issue becomes whether I can take my #1 pursuit into these arenas wihtout compromising his character, values and mission. I have been guilty of those excursions.
      Priorities seems to be the scorecard to use. Are the intersections of my life’s pursuits going to please the hierarchy of my priorities? Will I jeopardize relationship with God, family ,rest, and job by following or over-pursuing this venture?
      I am glad that God grants me the ability to feel guilt as well as joy in these pursuits.
      I have a few more words to add: forgiving, liberating, resfreshing, mysteriously infinte.

  13. Lisa, I haven’t been here much but checked in yesterday. With your anticipated permission, I’m posting a link to this post on “Who are you” (and “who is God?”) on my blog, since I really couldn’t have said it as well. Your thoughts, and so many of the comments, are so helpful.

    Also had more than one smile over the Frosty pic! ~Brian Casey (blcasey.wordpress.com)

  14. lisacolondelay

    Jeff: Your added thoughts get into the Practicing the Presence of God worldview that I founded this blog site for, and I’m happy you tied that in! What we love can merge with The One who loves us and is Love. A Reality seen and lived properly does not involve idolatry, such as priorities that change us into being more selfish and ungodly. It includes the things we enjoy and our True and good Master who enjoys them with us, and we with him. Great points, on round 2, Jeff. Thanks.

    Brain: Thanks for coming by. Chime in anytime, and thanks for the link. I hope you can contribute here with your thoughts/comments, and I also plan to visit your blog today. God Bless.