Cultural Context: What do you think about Christian Tattoos?


I’m finishing a paper of the I Corinthians 8:9 verse about being a stumbling block. (It had to do with Paul’s response to the Corinthians’ problem of whether eating meat sacrificed in pagan temples was advisable/allowable.)

The nutshell:

Paul says, it’s not about the food. It’s actually about the care taking of other people who don’t share the same previous experiences, or who have different convictions. The “strong” (so-called by those who wish to be called that) say they have no problems with eating meat of that nature. The new converts, they term, “the weak” are conflicted about eating meat in their former places of worship, etc. Paul advises the “strong ones”.

He says, no one should be forced to accept or do something that goes against their conscience. Knowing God, for who God is, means many things stop being about simply matters of right or wrong. In the end, what matters is that we gracious provide for each other, and we do not burden other believers on amoral issues. He mentions he’ll never eat meat again, if eating will bring someone to ruin, yet he has no problem with eating it himself.

For my paper, I had to come up with a contemporary situation that manifests itself in a similar way. There are plenty of things to choose from. Can you think of any?

I came up with Christians and Tattoos:

So- What you think?

Are tattoos a witness, or a stumbling block?

Both? Neither?

What’s your opinion?

Here is a video of an interview of a Christian tattoo artist that shows the issue from his unique vantage point.

3 responses to “Cultural Context: What do you think about Christian Tattoos?

  1. Personally, I’m not a fan of tats. However, if this is a way to reach people with the gospel, then I am all for it. I used to go to church with a guy who was a tattoo artist and he had his own shop near a bar in our city. I don’t know how many people he lead to the Lord, but I know there were many confessions of faith made by customers. There’s also no telling how many people he witnessed to who didn’t come to know the Lord, but the seeds were planted. I know it was an awesome ministry for him and he was very effective. He reached a whole entire sector of people that I would probably never even come in contact with.

  2. lisacolondelay

    That’s a good point about an untouched segment.

    At my mom’s church there are a large number of Harley bikers. They have dramatic conversion stories, and most are still rough around the edges, but if it hadn’t been for a few people reaching out to them-over something in common, motorcycles-hundreds of lives wouldn’t be changed.

    Every spring before bike season, a time called “Blessing of the Bikes”
    Thousands attend.
    http://www.macriders.org/

  3. Muriel Dougherty

    I don’t care for tatoos of any kind. I would rather see art in other places. I don’t say much to my grandkids about their tatoos, but am sad that they show where they may possibly care when they chose a wedding gown. I may be old fashioned. In parts of Mexico where we have traveled they are a sign of drugs. Just my opinion.