I unplugged


Yesterday, I felt a leading to not do the regular stuff of my day.

Usually, I “tend” my blog, I water my facebook connections, I weed my emails, I fertilize my social media outlets. Not yesterday. I heard a still small voice say. “Don’t do it today.”

This seemed silly…. and counter-productive, counter-intuitive, and just plain “not what I wanted.” I dug in my heels a bit. I balked. I sighed just a little–kind of like a whine. And then I resign to it for the day. But it was good.

I didn’t have expectations. I had nothing to “put out there” for people to see or like. I didn’t have to try. And for more than several hours, I felt a different sort of restfulness than I have regarding writing.

I’m thinking about taking a sabbatical, of sorts.

Maybe unplugging. Perhaps a retreat.

Word Origin & History(1)

1645, “of or suitable for the Sabbath,” from L. sabbaticus, from Gk. sabbatikos “of the Sabbath” (see Sabbath). Meaning “a year’s absence granted to researchers” (originally one year in seven, to university professors) first recorded 1886 (the thing itself is attested from 1880, at Harvard), related to sabbatical year (1599) in Mosaic law, the seventh year, in which land was to remain untilled and debtors and slaves released.

Graduation is coming, and it would be a good fit.

What ideas do you have about sabbaticals, or how to best encounter them?

1. sabbatical. Dictionary.com. Online Etymology Dictionary. Douglas Harper, Historian.http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/sabbatical (accessed: April 21, 2010).

2 responses to “I unplugged

  1. The notion of Christian “Sabbath” is a hot button for me, because it’s assumed to be biblically accurate and has in for some been more a matter of obligation and enforcement than of the spirit, mind, and body. But somehow “sabbatical” sounds better to me. Maybe because I’m an aural guy, the sound of the word doesn’t chap me. Anyway, I do like the idea of sabbaticals, when we feel we need them. And I like unplugging. And I like walking. I like walking a lot. And sometimes I like just saying, when I see someone I want to talk with or who needs to talk with me, “Self, chuck the work for a half-hour or for the evening. TALK. Spend time with this person.” I wish I did this more, but when I do it, I rarely regret it.

    • Insightful, Brian. I rarely, if ever, regret those times either. “Sabbath,” is probably more of a way and rhythm of living. We work hard, and also we rest and rejuvenate well. The enjoyment of life, work well done, and relationships grown and nurtured (including ours with God), I think that is what God was providing for his people in this set up.

      It seems without a good reminder, we will run ourselves ragged, which puts us at risk.

      Surprisingly when God gave the people of Israel this day off for worship and rest, in was a refreshing change from their days of slavery in Egypt. There they worked 10 days before they could rest. Often God is easier on us, than we are on ourselves.

      Be at rest, friend.