Lurking


A one way conversation

They say that 90% of people who visit a blog simply “lurk.” That is, they read, and rummage around a bit, but do not participate or respond to posts by leaving comments–even when it is encouraged.

Why do you think this is?

(Smash the stats, and answer rather than lurk this time, k?) 😉

Thanks for reading!

4 responses to “Lurking

  1. insecurity, for one.

  2. They don’t know what to say? They don’t know how to respond to the question? They don’t have time? Who knows!

  3. MY percentage is far lower, as of now.

    I get about 100 hits a day, but as you see here… um, yeah, hum, not too much response.

    The question is out there for any takers: What might help change this trend? 🙂

  4. I wasn’t going to say anything…I was just going to read…but since you challenged me to respond and comment…here I am. 😉

    For myself…I know that I will comment if I find something particularly stirring. (either positively or negatively) If I read something that is the same mundane drivel…or even if it’s not mundane but it’s a reiteration of something that was stated elsewhere (the news, another blog, a song)…I more than likely won’t post anything in response.

    You know what I mean…a lot of blogs post something like “Hey…look at this cool video that my friend emailed me (and 3000 other people got it today too)…or they post stuff like “look how bad the oil is in the gulf…”…nothing new. I’m not going to bother reading – even less so commenting.

    Oh….anyway…. 😉

    (PS…I found you through Ken Miller’s Blog).