Original Sin


How do you understand the notion of “Original Sin”?

If we suppose for just a few seconds, for argument’s sake, that the Garden of Eden story was left out of the Bible, what changes with some of our notions of Original Sin?

Thanks for your responses.

4 responses to “Original Sin

  1. warwickfuller

    I think that it would make a lot of what Paul said based on presumption. I wonder if it would also mean that it would make the story and notion of original sin as universal. If we would have no clue were sin came from, we’d have to pay attention to different culture’s ideas of where everything did go wrong. Pandora may become more credible… and maybe, then, the idea of Christ atoning for everyone, and coming out of a specific culture would lose credibility as a universal act. Each person, each culture, may then look for an atoning moment in each particular history.

    Does that make sense?

    • That’s pretty huge. I guess I’m wondering is this story the big “pivot point”? Is it the bottom card in a “card house” -so to speak. (I’m not saying that it is a house of cards.) I doubt this is the point of the story (doctrine of original sin), but falls into a greater context that has to do with Israel understanding who God is, and who humans are. ETC. The story helps to explain “what went wrong” as well.

  2. undergroundchurch

    The issue of Original Sin is bigger than saying, “Original sin came to me through Adam” or “I am born into sin because of Adam”.
    The fact remains, “All have sinned and fall short of God.” (Romans 3:23)
    But, to answer this in my own little way, I blogged it – The Source of Our Dilemma